A Virtual Conversation with Kelly Mustian | The Girls in the Stilt House

A Virtual Conversation with Kelly Mustian | The Girls in the Stilt House

May 10th 2021 | 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Join us for a virtual conversation with author Kelly Mustian, celebrating the release of her novel, "The Girls in the Stilt House," on May 10th at 6PM! Set in 1920s Mississippi, this debut Southern novel weaves a beautiful and harrowing story of two teenage girls cast in an unlikely partnership through murder—perfect for readers of Where the Crawdads Sing and If the Creek Don't Rise. Sign up online to join, book purchase appreciated but not required!

Register Here


The Girls in the Stilt House

by Kelly Mustian

• • •

Ada promised herself she would never go back to the Trace, to her hard life on the swamp and her harsh father. But now, after running away to Baton Rouge and briefly knowing a different kind of life, she finds herself with nowhere to go but back home. And she knows there will be a price to pay with her father.

"The Girls in the Stilt House is a brilliantly researched, atmospheric page-turner. But best of all, it's populated with characters you really care about. I devoured it in a single weekend, yet the novel's haunting spell remained with me long after."—Kate Moore, New York Times bestselling author of The Radium Girls and the upcoming The Woman They Could Not Silence

Matilda, daughter of a sharecropper, is from the other side of the Trace. Doing what she can to protect her family from the whims and demands of some particularly callous locals is an ongoing struggle. She forms a plan to go north, to pack up the secrets she's holding about her life in the South and hang them on the line for all to see in Ohio.

"The two young women at the heart of this rich debut come of age under the hardest of circumstances, and Kelly Mustian has given us their world entire. We ache for their sorrows, we cheer for their victories, and we recognize both ourselves and our nation in their troubles and their hopes."—Jon Clinch, author of Marley and Finn

As the two girls are drawn deeper into a dangerous world of bootleggers and moral corruption, they must come to terms with the complexities of their tenuous bond and a hidden past that links them in ways that could cost them their lives.

 

Kelly Mustian grew up in Natchez, Mississippi, the southern terminus of the historic Natchez Trace. Her work has appeared in numerous literary journals and commercial magazines, and she is a past recipient of a Blumenthal Writers Award and a Regional Artist Grant from the North Carolina Arts and Science Council. She currently lives near the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains in North Carolina. The Girls in the Stilt House is her debut novel.

 

 

Missed an event? Visit our YouTube channel here for event recordings from our virtual events and other fun recorded content!

Error Message