Events

Marriage, Motherhood, and Murder with Leslie Hooton

Marriage, Motherhood, and Murder with Leslie Hooton

August 16th 2022 | 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Just when Bailey Edgeworth thinks she's finally gotten everything she wanted—marriage to a man she loves and a thriving career—her whole world comes crashing down. Her ex-husband, a famous TV chef, is found murdered, and with her DNA all over his apartment, it turns out that she's the prime suspect. Now she must do everything in her power to prove her innocence, on top of the already-exhausting demands of marriage and motherhood. Does this sound like your kind of book? If so, join us in the shop on Tuesday, August 16th at 6pm as we welcome author Leslie Hooton! This event is free and open to all.

read more


C.J. Carey, Author of "Widowland," in Conversation with Jennifer Coburn

C.J. Carey, Author of "Widowland," in Conversation with Jennifer Coburn

August 22nd 2022 | 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Join us at 6pm on Monday, August 22nd for a virtual conversation with C.J. Carey, author of the dystopian novel "Widowland," which was selected as the book of the month by The Times upon its publication in the UK. Called a "compulsive, terrifying read" by New York Times bestselling author Kate Quinn, the novel imagines an alternate history in which the Nazis won WWII and established a hierarchical classification designed to control women. Following protagonist Rose Ransom, a woman paid by the regime to rewrite English classics so as to squash any subversive influence, the book explores the dangers of ideological oppression and the fragility of freedom. Perfect for fans of "The Handmaid's Tale" and "The Man in the High Castle"! Register within.

read more


The Untold Story of the Famous "Doll Test" with Biographer Tim Spofford

The Untold Story of the Famous "Doll Test" with Biographer Tim Spofford

August 23rd 2022 | 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM

In 1940, Dr. Kenneth Clark and his wife Mamie worked in schoolrooms, asking more than 250 Black children whether they preferred white or brown baby dolls. The ensuing psychology study became what is now known as the "doll test"—the experiment which revealed that two-thirds of the children preferred a white doll to a doll of their own race. Word of the doll test brought the Clarks and their insights to New York's City Hall, the White House, and the U.S. Supreme Court, where they ended up playing an historic role in the Brown v. Board of Education ruling. "What the Children Told Us" is author Tim Spofford's in-depth new biography of these pioneering Black psychologists, whose work still resonates today. Join us to meet the author on Tuesday, August 23rd, via Crowdcast!

read more


Anne Heltzel, Author of "Just Like Mother," in Conversation with Lana Popović Harper

Anne Heltzel, Author of "Just Like Mother," in Conversation with Lana Popović Harper

August 25th 2022 | 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Hub City Bookshop is excited to welcome author Anne Heltzel for a virtual reading and discussion of her novel, "Just Like Mother." Named a Most Anticipated Title by Book Riot, CrimeReads, Goodreads, and more, the novel follows Maeve, a young woman who has escaped the cult she was raised in for a successful life in New York City -- but when her long-lost cousin reappears, it triggers memories that Maeve would rather forget. Heltzel will be joined in conversation by author Lana Popović Harper, New York Times bestselling author of "Payback's A Witch." This exciting event is perfect for fans of literary horror and fantasy! Join us at 6pm on Thursday, August 25th!

read more


Meet the Author: Elizabeth Kilcoyne, "Wake the Bones"

Meet the Author: Elizabeth Kilcoyne, "Wake the Bones"

August 29th 2022 | 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Do you love atmospheric fiction, fantasy, or stories steeped in nature? If so, this is the event for you! Join us on Crowdcast at 6pm on Monday, August 29th to meet Elizabeth Kilcoyne, author of the debut YA novel "Wake the Bones." A gripping, haunting read that follows protagonist Laurel Early's return to the sleepy farm she grew up on, this novel is perfect for mystery, thriller, and horror fans. Register within!

read more


Your Next True Crime Obsession with Casey Sherman, NYT Bestselling Author of "Helltown"

Your Next True Crime Obsession with Casey Sherman, NYT Bestselling Author of "Helltown"

August 30th 2022 | 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Are you a true crime junkie? If so, welcome to your new obsession: Tony Costa, the serial killer of Cape Cod, and Casey Sherman's new book revealing his untold story. Join us on Crowdcast at 6pm on Tuesday, August 30th to learn more about this shocking story and the two famous American writers who competed, in the 1960s, to be the first to tell it. Register within!

read more


Her Story is Reading "The Flamethrowers" by Rachel Kushner

Her Story is Reading "The Flamethrowers" by Rachel Kushner

September 7th 2022 | 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Join Her Story on Wednesday, September 7th as we return to a (partially) in-store model! This month we will meet in the Bookshop AND open a Zoom room so that everyone can participate via their preferred model. Her Story is a book club that meets on the first Wednesday of every month to discuss books by women, about women. This month we're reading "The Flamethrowers" by Rachel Kushner. This classic read—which was a National Book Award finalist when it was released in 2013—features protagonist Reno weaving her way through the 1970s New York and Italian art worlds. If you read with us, you'll be in good company: "The Flamethrowers" was recently named to the New York Times's list of "The 25 Most Significant New York City Novels from the Last 100 Years." Can't wait to see you there!

read more


Hub City Bookshop Welcomes Neil deGrasse Tyson to Converse University

Hub City Bookshop Welcomes Neil deGrasse Tyson to Converse University

September 27th 2022 | 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Hub City Bookshop welcomes Neil deGrasse Tyson to Converse University for an evening celebrating the release of his new book "Starry Messenger: Cosmic Perspectives on Civilization." Join us at 7pm on Tuesday, September 27th as this bestselling author, leading astrophysicist, and renowned science communicator applies his unique insight to the crucial fault lines of our time, guiding us toward unity through a cosmic perspective. Tyson will be joined in conversation by Will Case, Associate Professor of Chemistry and recipient of the South Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities Excellence in Teaching Award. Hosted by Converse University in the historic Twichell Auditorium at Zimmerli Performance Center, this is a ticketed event, with each ticket including a copy of the book.

read more

Missed an event? Visit our YouTube channel here for event recordings from our virtual events and other fun recorded content!

Error Message