Eureka Mill: 20th Anniversary Edition

Eureka Mill: 20th Anniversary Edition

by: Ron Rash
Release date: Oct 1st, 2018

20th Anniversary Edition with Foreword by Robert Morgan. Read More

Softcover - $14.95
(ISBN: 978-1-938235-44-3)

First published in 1998, Eureka Mill is Ron Rash’s seminal collection of poetry, which introduced the world to an often overlooked Appalachian region and cemented Rash’s name as synonymous with Southern writing.

Eureka Mill presents a lyrical portrait of the migration of poor North Carolina farmers to Chester, South Carolina to work in the Eureka Cotton Mill in the years before the Great Depression. Drawing on his family history in the region that stretches back three hundred years, Rash assembles a nuanced tapestry of mill village life, from the foremen in their offices to the men and women at the looms toiling in the often inhumane conditions of the mills.

Rash’s poetry elevates the people and landscapes of rural Appalachia to incandescent heights, garnering comparisons to the work of Seamus Heaney and Robert Frost. Still one of Rash’s finest works to date, Eureka Mill is a vital record of one of the South’s most important historic shifts, offering readers at once intimacy and perspective, heart and understanding.

With a foreword by New York Times Bestselling author Robert Morgan and new note by the author, this twentieth anniversary edition will ensure Eureka Mill will be treasured by a new generation of readers and scholars alike.

Praise for Eureka Mill

“As exhibited in Eureka Mill, his finely honed craftsmanship is most salient in his poetry, which has a casual, addictive appeal.” —Publishers Weekly
"Most of Eureka Mill is composed in a kind of homestitched tetrameter, regular as the warp and weft of Oxford cloth and just as seamless.” —GC Waldrep
"Every now and then a book comes along that transports us so thoroughly to another time and another way of life that, when we finally put it down, our own lives don't quite look the same. It is even more remarkable if the book is set where we live, a place we thought we'd been." —The Asheville Citizen-Times

Cover Image: Mark Robinson

Ron Rash

Ron Rash

Ron Rash is the author of the 2009 PEN/Faulkner finalist and New York Times bestseller Serena and Above the Waterfall, in addition to four prizewinning novels, including The Cove, One Foot in Eden, Saints at the River*, and The World Made Straight; four collections of poems; and six collections of stories, among them Burning Bright, which won the 2010 Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award, and Chemistry and Other Stories, which was a finalist for the 2007 PEN/Faulkner Award. Twice the recipient of the O. Henry Prize, he teaches at Western Carolina University.

Error Message