The Big Game is Every Night

The Big Game is Every Night

by: Robert Maynor
Release date: Aug 22nd, 2023

Robert Maynor has been selected as the winner of the 2022 South Carolina Novel Series for his debut novel, The Big Game is Every Night. Read More

Softcover - $16.95
(ISBN: 9798885740159)

Grady Hayes is a young high school football player being raised by his hard working single mother. His life revolves around football, until—in a game against cross-county rivals—he breaks his leg. Cut off from his teammates, Grady is lost. He takes prescription pills to dull the pain and pass the time. But when his leg finally heals and Grady tries to return to the team, his spot has been filled and he can’t relate to his teammates anymore.

Grady takes up with Hambone, a brooding older boy, and they start hunting together in the swamp at night. Their relationship is volatile, fueled by alcohol and pills, and their hunting ritual quickly turns dark and carelessly violent. Feeling helpless and out of ways to stop her son’s downward spiral, Grady’s mother asks his estranged father to pay them a visit to set Grady straight, leading to a tragic family reckoning.

Told in the keen, honest voice of a young man growing up in the rural American South, The Big Game is Every Night is a literary novel that will appeal to readers interested in better understanding the cultural forces that shape contemporary blue-collar America. 

Robert Maynor

Robert Maynor

Robert Maynor is from the Lowcountry of South Carolina. He lives and writes in a patched-up fish camp on the bank of the Edisto River, the longest free-flowing blackwater river in North America. His fiction explores the spectrum of complexities and contradictions in the contemporary American South. His short stories have appeared in Blood Orange Review, BULL, the Carolina Quarterly, and CRAFT, among other outlets. His work has been nominated for a Pushcart Prize, and he is the past recipient of the Larry Brown Short Story Award and the Coker Fellowship in Fiction from the South Carolina Academy of Authors. The Big Game Is Every Night is his first novel.

Error Message